All Categories Buy, deposit, withdraw ​>​ Bank deposits and withdrawals What countries are part of SEPA?

What countries are part of SEPA?

Updated 1 week ago by Ana

The Single Euro Payments Area (SEPA) is a payment-integration initiative of the European Union for simplification of Euro bank transfers. The area consists of the 34 member states as of the July 2015:

Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sweden, United Kingdom & Northern Ireland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland.

By default, the entire country is under the jurisdiction of SEPA, however, the following countries have territories which are not considered as a part of the area:

  • Cyprus: Northern Cyprus is excluded.
  • Denmark: the Faroe Islands and Greenland are excluded.
  • France: the French Southern and Antarctic Lands, French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna are excluded. Nevertheless, the 3 last are part of the SEPA COM Pacifique.
  • Netherlands: Aruba, the Caribbean Netherlands, Curaçao and Sint Maarten are excluded.
  • Norway: Svalbard and Jan Mayen are excluded.

There are also a number of jurisdictions that use Euros, but not included in the SEPA:

  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Kosovo
  • Montenegro
  • Andorra and Vatican City

For more details, please refer to the website of our banking partner:

Was this helpful?