What countries are part of SEPA?
Konstantin avatar
Written by Konstantin
Updated over a week ago

The Single Euro Payments Area (SEPA) is a payment integration initiative of the European Union for simplification of Euro bank transfers. The area consists of the 34 member states as of July 2015:

Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sweden, United Kingdom & Northern Ireland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland.

By default, the entire country is under the jurisdiction of SEPA, however, the following countries have territories which are not considered as a part of the area:

  • Cyprus: Northern Cyprus is excluded.

  • Denmark: the Faroe Islands and Greenland are excluded.

  • France: the French Southern and Antarctic Lands, French Polynesia, New Caledonia, and Wallis and Futuna are excluded. Nevertheless, the last three are part of SEPA COM Pacifique.

  • Netherlands: Aruba, the Caribbean Netherlands, Curaçao, and Sint Maarten are excluded.

  • Norway: Svalbard and Jan Mayen are excluded.

  • UK: The Isle of Man, Channel Islands and Gibraltar are excluded.

There are also a number of jurisdictions that use Euros but are not included in SEPA:

  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia

  • Kosovo

  • Montenegro

  • Andorra and Vatican City

If you have any questions, please contact our support team via the life chat or by email support@cryptopay.me.

Did this answer your question?